Are you still using your one hand to do just anything while driving? If yes then beware New York police is watching you. If you are doing so then you will be penalized by the US government for being practicing hand free driving
US Gov announced $1 million enforcement law to strengthen the state’s newly distracted driving law even steeper. This law is enforced as another step to minimize the accident caused by texting or handling phone during driving. The previous law that had three demerit points for a driver’s license for convicting hand free driving now changed to five. Cuomo says for young driver’s penalties will be even steeper and the first conviction will get a license suspension of 60-days.
They sit a little higher above so that they can have a clear look on where your hands are. If they didn’t find both of your hands on the steering while driving they will pull you out for that offense.
"Out of every five crashes about one is caused by distracted driving" says Cuomo’s office. New York’s anti-distraction law is primary and hopes this might reduce the crash level caused by distracted driving.