Secretary LaHood said that "I commend Governor Sandoval for signing legislation that will help save lives and put a stop to dangerous distracted driving behavior on Nevada roads. In a split second, the consequences of texting behind the wheel can be devastating. There's no call or text so important that it can't wait."
By this Nevada becomes the 34th state to prohibit texting behind the wheel and the ninth to prohibit all hand-held cell phone use while driving.
This new law in Nevada makes it illegal to text or talk on a hand-held cell phone while driving. Under the new law, violators face a fine of
- up to $100 for the first offense
- up to $200 for the second offense
- up to $250 and their driver licenses will be suspended for the third offense
The law becomes effective on January 1, 2012 but law enforcement officers can start issuing warnings from October 1st of 2011.
Also view our featured article Distracted Driving which tells you in detail about the Campaign tools on distracted driving, three key elements to decrease distracted driving, researches made on distracted driving etc...
Labels: distracted driving law in Nevada